47 Followers
12 Following
elvenjaneite

By Singing Light

Pretty much everything here originally appeared at my actual blog: By Singing Light. I particularly focus on upper middle-grade and young adult books. I also enjoy adult genre books, especially speculative fiction.

Currently reading

The Lost Tools of Learning and the Mind of the Maker
Dorothy L. Sayers
The Seventh Bride
Kingfisher
Hope in the Dark
Rebecca Solnit
Outrun the Moon
Stacey Lee
Suffer Love
Ashley Herring Blake
Midnight Thief
Livia Blackburne
The Girl Who Could Silence the Wind
Meg Medina
The White Hart
Nancy Springer
The Great Wall Of Lucy Wu
Wendy Wan-Long Shang
Libriomancer
Jim C. Hines

Airplane reading

My Life Next Door - Huntley Fitzpatrick Pretender - C.J. Cherryh Torn Away - Jennifer Brown A Creature of Moonlight - Rebecca Hahn

I finally have internet at home! So I should be around here more often. Yay!

 

In the meantime, I went to Boston for my sister’s college graduation, and then to Oregon for my brother’s high school graduation. I’m so proud of them both.

And of course, with two long plane rides, I had a lot of reading opportunities. On the way to and from Oregon, I ended up reading four books, and I could have read a few more, if only I had had them with me (there are advantages to ereaders).  


My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick: I had been aware of this one since it came out and impulse-bought a copy when I went to get my brother a graduation present. It was perfect airplane reading–fun, light, well done in a way that didn’t leave me any regrets. It’s a great summer romance story, and one I would recommend for fans of Jennifer Echols or Jennifer Smith.

 

Torn Away by Jennifer Brown: If you work with teens in the Midwest, I would definitely recommend getting this one for your collection. Brown really captures the Midwestern setting, especially the relationship with tornadoes. And there’s a drama to the whole story that I think teens will really enjoy. I liked the story without being 100% captivated by it, but I appreciated a lot about it.

 

Prentender by C.J. Cherryh: Eighth Bren Cameron book. I was nearly hyperventilating the whole way through–I have no idea what my seatmates thought of me. (Fortunately, my squeaks were probably disguised by the engine noise.) If there’s one thing Cherryh excels at, it’s creating a story that’s extremely intense and breath-taking without a lot actually *happening*. Okay, in this one things happen, and yet somehow I always feel that the can’t-stop-must-keep-reading response I have to this series is out of proportion to the plot. This is probably my favorite of the last few books; I really enjoy Tabini, for whatever reason, and like the books he’s featured in. Now on to Deliverer, which is already promising to be just as stressful.

 

Creature of Moonlight by Rebecca Hahn: This is a quietish book, with fewer dragons that the cover promises. But it’s a lovely exploration of what family and forgiveness are, and ultimately it’s the story of a girl finding a place for herself in the world. I liked the careful way Marni’s relationships with other women are depicted, and her voice had a kind of ring of truth to it that I really appreciated.

Source: http://bysinginglight.wordpress.com/2014/06/16/airplane-reading